Annual Club Presentation night for the 2019 season

The annual club presentation night was held last Thursday night at Abbeys Bars (Portals Place) to celebrate and recognise the achievements of the club members during  the 2019 season.

Paul Garstang opened the night with his welcome speech to go through the order of events for the evening and to introduce the some of the special guests we had in attendance:

Lewis Hall presented the awards assisted by John Grant who was compare for the night. Gavin Russel and Dave Oliver from the VTTA ,with who the club work closely with hosting TT events in the Teesside district were also at the event. A special mention must go to Mrs Russell who presented the Phillip Russell Memorial Trophy for the fastest 10m TT.

Phil and his family deserve a big thank you from the club members for organising the evening as a they put in a lot of hard work that is not always appreciated and also the staff at Abbeys Bar deserve a pat on the back for the service and buffet they provided.

Hartlepool Cycling club championships 2019:

SPOCO 23mTT                                         Edward Walker Cup                        P Thirling                00;55:43  Actual

SPOCO 23mTT  Handicap                     SPOCO  Handicap Cup                    R Grant                   00:55:24  Handicap


Senior 10m TT                                          J.W.Cameron Cup                            G Hunt                    00:23:15  Actual

Handicap 10m TT                                   10m TT   Handicap Cup                    R Grant                  00:19:22  Handicap

Fastest 10m TT                                         Phillip Russell Memorial Trophy   P Fountain            00:21:37   Actual


Senior 25m TT                                           Ron Best Cup                                     G Hunt                   00:59:10  Actual

Handicap 25m TT                                     25m TT   Handicap Cup                   R Grant                  00:51:45  Handicap

Fastest 25m  TT                                         Marcus Bloom Shield                       G Hunt                    00:55:50  Actual


Senior 50m TT                                           50m TT Shield                                    G Hunt                    01:54:11  Actual


Hill Climb                                                   Hill Climb Cup                                     P Thirling               00:04:06  Actual


Best All Rounder                                      B.A.R Cup       1st place                        G Hunt                   26.88 mph  ( Average over 10m, 25m, 50m distances)

B.A.R Plaque  2nd place                                                                                           R Grant                  24.68 mph  ( Average over 10m, 25m, 50m distances)

B.A.R Plaque  3rd place                                                                                            P Wright                23.48 mph  ( Average over 10m, 25m, 50m distances)


100/8 Challenge                                      P Garstang, P Wright, A Wilson, R Grant, T Jones, B Blakelock, A Downs.  All received a commemorative medal.

Photographs of the award winners:

Hill Climb Cup
Fastest 10m TT
Philip Russel Memorial Shield
Senior 25m TT
Ron Best Cup
10m TT Handicap


25m TT
Handicap cup
100/8 Medal
T Jones A Downs and B Blakelock are missing from photo
Fastest 25m TT
Marcus Bloom Shield
Senior 50m TT
50m TT Shield



SPOCO 23m TT Edward Walker Cup
Lewis Hall John Grant Mrs Russell
Lewis and Richie Grant with John Grant photo bombing
Lewis and Gary Hunt with  John Grant photo bombing again!!!

Apologises if some photographs are missing, these are the only  ones i have been sent.

The raffle was a success with some good prizes kindly donated by club members which raised £115 to go to the club funds so a big thank you to Janet and Julie who sold the tickets and also to Andrew Wilson who was sorting the beer chits and taking in the yearly subs.

Andrew was made up after winning a designer pink saddle bag in the raffle to go with his pink cycling tights which hopefully will get its first public outing in this years 100/8..

After the closing address by Paul it was time to reminisce with some of the old guard who were well represented on the night.

A trip down memory lane for some of the old timers, who reckon they  could still beat the young guns of today over most of the TT distances but especially the 100/8!!!!

Two photographs taken 63 years apart of the same group of  lads.

Here are the lads representing West Hartlepool CC in the 1957 Bruslington Road Race.

Left to Right: Lewis Hall, Jim McNeil, John Grant, Ken Bainbridge, Colin Lyth and Ian Cox.

The 2020 photo: Jim McNeil, Ken Bainbridge, Lewis Hall and John Grant, Missing from the photo are Colin who  now lives in Australia and sadly Ian who is no longer with us but the lads had a few beers for them in their absence.

All in all the night was a brilliant success.