HCC 25 mile TT on T254 16/09/2018

L & G

Hartlepool CC are promoting their last Time Trial of the season on the ” user friendly” course T254 near Leeming on 16th September 2018 . Please see the attached details. As always we are indepted to the volunteers who make these events possible, which in turn  provides some financial assistance to the club to arrange prize presentation, assistance to racing costs and assistance to club kit purchase. If anyone would like to assist please contact Paul or Phil as per the attachment.

Closing date for entries is midnight 4th September 2018 via the CTT website or give Phil a call on 07702 244922.

HCC 50 Mile TT on 12/08/2018 – update

Well after all that preparation, the weather finally defeated us. The race was called off on safety grounds – the spray created by traffic in the Northern Sector of the course was hazardous to any rider. Many thanks to all involved : Mark, Paul, Jason and Derek who were down to Marshal the turn, Neil who was to Marshal the slip road to the finish. Paul and Andrew for pushing off. John who was due to number catch, John who was the result board man. Phil and David for timekeeping duties and finally but certainly not least Ruth and Janet for catering – who in fact where the only ones to do any graft. Thanks to all riders for entering this event, we had a very strong field of 95. Apologies to anyone who I may have missed and there is bound to be someone,  but I am a little frazzled  after this morning.


Lets hope the weather is better for our final event of the season the T254 16th September first rider off 09:01 get your entries in please.





Please note entry for HCC’s 50 mile TT on 12/08/2017 is closing at midnight on 31st July 2018.

All HCC members who are not riding in this event and who would be available to Marshall or assist with the running of the event will be suitably reimbursed for any expenses incurred in getting to/from Crathorne. Travel will be arranged for those marshalling at the turn. Please contact Phil Wright 07702 244922 or Paul Garstang 07784 781221, Thanks in anticipation.

Weekly Racing Round Up – W/E 20/5



Richie Booth had a great start to his season, he has only ridden 3 road events and one time trial because of illness.
The Ferryhill 10 was one to forget but he fared a bit better on the road. He won his category in the Clitheroe Green Jersey R.R on April 8th and was 2nd in the Derek Smith Memorial on April 21st. Best result was on Sunday when he won his category in the TLI National Circuit Racing Champs getting it by half a wheel in a bunch sprint. Brilliant to see the new club strip on the top of the podium. Keep it up Richie.

Elsewhere, Phil Wright rode a PB of 1:02:40 on the National VTTA 25 on the A24/34 near Newark on Trent.

There was two Teesside SPOCO events over the weekend on Saturday 19th May the Richmond CC held the T243 over Grinton Moor. Paul Fountain was top HCC rider with a 1:02:52 for 6th overall and 4th Teesside rider, Mark Tinkler rode 1:11:41, Richie Grant ,who has been experiencing some knee problems – DNS. The event was won by Harry Tanfield, even though he punctured in 56:07.

The other event was the Cleveland Wheelers Hilly on the T256 over Blakey Ridge, only one HCC rider mad enough to take this on was Paul Garstang who completed the course in 1:24:42 for 21st overall. The Event was won by Steven Guymer(Squadra RT) in 1:03:54.

The mid week Ferryhill 10 mile Club TT was cancelled due to roadworks.

Racing Round Up Week Ending 13th May

Hi All

The 13th May was the second HCC event of the year. An open CTT and VTTA 10 mile TT on the T105 from Sedgefield to 2nd Wynyard Round about and back.   There was 60 entrants , who were greeted by a cold and damp morning. Keith Murray (DRAG2ZERO)  was the fastest man on the day with a 20:06 , which also gave him the best standard of +6:07. For the Hartlepool CC riders, it was a day of mixed fortunes.  Richard Grant had a good sub 25 minute ride,Trevor Jones shipped a chain and it jammed so that was an end of his ride,Andrew Wilson punctured, Phil Wright should have stayed in bed wheras Paul Thirling was the quickest HCC rider with a 21:44. the remaining 5 HCC riders who had entered the event sent their apologies – hope they are all feeling better soon. Thanks go to the organiser Paul Garstang, Start Sheet developer John , catering crew Ruth and Janet, the timekeepers Phil and David, Pusher Off Peter, number catcher John  and the Marshalls at the round abouts and turn offs.

Thursday 10th was the first FWCC mid week ten, HCC results are tabled below – thanks to John Grant for collecting them.

7th May was the National VTTA 10 mile Championship on the F11/10 at Aylesbury won again this year by Ron Hallam with 26:22 and standard +08:34, HCC were represented by Phil Wright with a 24:48 and standard +03:11.

6th May was Ferryhill Wheelers 25 mile TT on the new course T254 out at Leeming. The Event was won by Ben Etherington (MTS Cycle Sport) with a 51:25, HCC riders Paul Thirling rode a 56:44 for a top ten finish and Richie Grant rode 1:05:52.

5th May Phil Wright rode the E2/10 in Cambridge for a 24:22.

28th April was the Charity 10 mile TT on T105 run by Ferryhill Wheelers. The event was well supported with 7 HCC entries.  Paul Fountain was HCC’s quickest on the day with a 22:16, Mark Tinkler 23:15,Richie Grant 24:55,Richard Booth 25:03 and Alan Lang 25:24. Phil Wright and Ted Scurr sent apologies.


All – if anyone has any newsworthy items please send to Phil Wright at jagryk@aol.com

Sunday 13th May 10 Mile Time Trial at Sedgefield


We currently need assistance on Sunday’s morning Time Trial at the Sedgefield course, we need marshalls at the 2 roundabouts on the course. You do not control the traffic it is to provide a Highly Visible reminder to drivers that Cyclists are on the course and to ensure the cyclists follow the direction arrows. It will be around 1:15 minutes and perhaps you could combime it with your Sunday ride. If anyone would like to provide assistance please call Phil on 07702 244922 or Paul on 07784 781221 – thanks in anticipation.

HCC Weekly Racing Round Up W/E 22 nd April

Wednesday 18th April was the start of Darlington’s CC Club 10’s on the Attley Hill circuit round Scorton. Weather was tropical and there was some good times on the night. HCC’s Phil Wright managed a PB of 25:59.



Saturday was HCC’s own T105, after a worrying week of whether the event would be on due to a contraflow system impacting on the course. The morning saw all cones off the road and an aditional bonus ,it was a nice Spring day. The event went off without incident and the majority of the riders were quick to give credit to the club and its members for running a superb event. Philip Graves NOPINZ was fastest with a 19:59, Keith Murray Drag2Zero was second with 20:06 and Kris Atkin , Team Bottril was 3rd with 20:50. Generally times were a little slower from last years corresponding event. The VTTA Standard event was won by a spectacular ride by Adept Cycling’s Gary Hunt with a standard of +6:12 and a time of 20:57.

Full Result


Sunday was the infamous Teesdale CRC Mountain Time Trial with 3 HCC entrants. The event was won by JLT Condor Pro rider James Gullen in a course record of 1:46:07. Hartlepool riders times were Paul Fountain 2:08:12 for 17th overall and 2nd Teesside affiliated ( good SPOCO points) , Paul Thirling 2:23:37 (first ride since injury) for 38th overall and 12th  affilliated Teesside rider and Paul Garstang 2:41:16 for 56th overall and 22nd Teesside rider. Paul made a 5 minute gain on his time last year in what was described as tougher conditions – must be all the “sign collecting ” adding a bit of fitness.